James Bolden – Back With My Baby / Flashback (1981)

James Bolden (David Christie) – Back With My Baby / Flashback (7″ vinyl single, 1981)

Continued from previous post, see James Bolden – Priorities / If It Feels Good Baby (1980).

In 1981 David Christie released his follow-up single to “Priorities”, from the album “Flashback” (also known as “Priorities”), titled “Back With My Baby” under the name of James Bolden. “Back With My Baby” was covered by David’s pop group Frantique, but re-titled as “Steady With Teddy” with slightly different lyrics – you can hear the song HERE.

james bolden DC

The b-side of the single is a lovely ballad, the title track from the album, “Flashback”, which you can hear below with lyrics included. This ballad was also covered by 70’s crooner Morris Albert (best known for hit single “Feelings”) for his album “Solitude” in 1981.

Back With My Baby

Flashback

Tracklist
Side A) Back With My Baby
Side B) Flashback

Credits
Keyboards, synthesizers, Bass, Guitar and percussion – James Bolden*
Harmony Vocals – James Bolden*, Jack Robinson
Producer – Jack Robinson, James Bolden*, Vivienne Savoie
Written By – Jack Robinson, James Bolden (David Christie)*

Lyrics to Flashback

The sight of you walking cross the crowded floor
I started trembling inside of me
I almost turned and ran for the door
All at once, you were holding out your hand’
(You said) is it true! Is it really you?
How have you been, God it’s good to see you

Chorus
Flashback, every single feeling I held back
Started to rush through my mind
All over again
Flashback, it felt just like a movie that
Backtracks, all of the love that I feel, reel by reel

I got by, closing off my mind to you
Now you’re standing right next to me
There’s nothing I can do
A part of me, never would believe we’re through
I thought in time I’d get over you
Baby I was wrong
I guess I never meant to

Chorus
Flashback, every single feeling I held back
Started to rush through my mind
All over again….
Flashback, it felt just like a movie that
Backtracks, all of the love that I feel, reel by reel

Leave a Reply

